Home > NBA > NBA Power Rankings: The 5 Best Sixth Man Award Winners

NBA Power Rankings: The 5 Best Sixth Man Award Winners

Nonetheless, these players are known as the 6th man. The best player coming off the their teams respected benches.

All these players are talented players, and at one point in their career they were starters. But at the point they won this award, they were their teams 6th man.

So here is a list compiling the five best players to ever win this award.

5. Jason Terry, Guard, Dallas Mavericks (2009)

Stats of the Year the Player Won the Award

Points Per Game: 19.6

Rebounds Per Game: 2.4

Assists Per Game: 3.4

Blocks Per Game: 0.3

Steals Per Game: 1.1

Terry is another example of a great scorer in this league. Like Crawford, if Terry was on most other teams he could be a starter.

But some odd reason coming off the bench, Terry has been at his best. Averaging 12-19 points every season since becoming a role player off the bench.

4. Jamal Crawford, Guard, Atlanta Hawks (2010)

Stats of the Year the Player Won the Award

Points Per Game: 18.0

Rebounds Per Game: 2.5

Assists Per Game: 3.0

Blocks Per Game: 0.2

Steals Per Game: 0.8

Crawford as turned into an elite scorer in this league. He is simply a pure scorer. One of the bes the NBA has to offer.

He could easily be starting any 20+ others teams in the league.

But when you play the same position as a player by the name of Joe Johnson, it is tough to crack the starting line-up.

Nonetheless this is why Crawford is the reigning 6th Man of the Year winner. And is arguably the front runner to repeat the award come next season.

3. Detlef Schrempf, Forward, Indiana Pacers (1991,1992)

Stats of the Year the Player Won the Award

Points Per Game: 16.1, 17.3

Rebounds Per Game: 8.0, 9.6

Assists Per Game: 3.7, 3.9

Blocks Per Game: 0.3, 0.5

Steals Per Game: 0.7, 0.8

Detlef Schremf is a very underrated player in the league. He was a crafty big man that played multiple positions because if his size and athleticism as a bigger player.

Schremf was also a very good three point shooter, shooting roughly 38% for three for his career. And in the 1994-95 season he hit 51% of his threes, helping his team to the NBA Championship, where they lost to the Bulls.

He was also a three time all-star, and Schremf along with Dirk Nowitzki are the only two Germans to ever reach the NBA Finals.

2. Manu Ginobili, Guard, San Antonio Spurs (2008)

Stats of the Year the Player Won the Award

Points Per Game: 19.5

Rebounds Per Game: 4.8

Assists Per Game: 4.5

Blocks Per Game: 0.4

Steals Per Game: 1.5

Ginboli is one of the better role players this game has ever seen. He could easily start for the Spurs. But he was given the bench role, and took it better then most players would ever.

Ginobili won the the award back in 2008. But has helped the Spurs to three NBA Championships in his eight year career.

Manu is a slick player that can score with the best of them. He is a great driver to the basket with the wicked left hand of his.

The year he won the 6th man award he averaged career highs in points, rebounds and three point shooting percentage. Shooting 40% from beyond the three point line.

1. Kevin McHale, Forward/Center, Boston Celtics (1984,1985)

Stats of the Year the Player Won the Award

Points Per Game: 18.4, 19.8

Rebounds Per Game: 7.4, 9.0

Assists Per Game: 1.3, 1.8

Blocks Per Game: 1.5, 1.5

Steals Per Game: 0.3, 0.4

Go figure! Kevin McHale, one of the greatest power forwards, and Boston Celtic to ever play the game started less than half the games he played in? McHale played in 971 career games and only started 400 of those games!

McHale was a beast down low. With his 7’7 wingspan. He used every inch of that to his advantage. He was not the quickest or fastest player on the court. But he combined his length, with his high basketball IQ, to play great defense, and use those soft hands to score around the basket.

McHale coming off the bench played a key role along with all-time great, Larry Bird in the teams championship run in the 1984 season.

As you can see in the headline, McHale won this award twice in back-to-back seasons.

Though, in the 1984-85 season McHale did start 30 games near the end of the season after a knee injury to Cedric Maxwell.

McHale is the the top player to ever win this award for many reason. He made all-stars, lead the Celtics to championships. And did most of this coming off of the bench.

Written By: Matt Ravida

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: